Around 655 voters cast their ballots in Jefferson County on the first day of early voting Monday in the mid-term election, according to the Jefferson County Clerk’s Office.

Early voting hours at the Jefferson County Courthouse are from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. through Friday, Oct. 26. On Saturday, Oct. 27, early voting hours at the courthouse are from 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.

On Monday, Oct. 29, hours are from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. through Friday, Nov. 2. On Saturday, Nov. 3, early voting hours are from 10 a.m. to 4 p.m. The last day of early voting — Monday, Nov. 5 — hours run from 8:30 a.m. to 5 p.m. at the courthouse.

On Election Day, Tuesday, Nov. 6, voters must report to their polling stations between 7:30 a.m. and 7:30 p.m.

White Hall Mayor Noel Foster is unopposed for another term as are City Attorney Tom Owens, City Clerk/Treasurer Ellen K. Welch and City Council members Andrew Lunsford, Ward 1, Position 1, Ken Smith, Ward 1, Position 2, Scott Ray, Ward 2, Position 1, Franklin (Beaver) Johnson, Ward 2, Position 2, David Beck, Ward 3, Position 1 and Joel Foster, Ward 3, Position 2.

One position on the Jefferson County Quorum Court will be decided as Alfred Carroll Sr., who won the Democratic Party primary, will be challenged by Libertarian James Michael Hood.

Two constitutional amendments that were to be counted on the November ballot have been ordered struck down by the Arkansas Supreme Court. The items will still appear on ballots but will not be counted, per the Supreme Court’s ruling.

They are Issue 1, an amendment concerning civil lawsuits and the powers of the General Assembly and Supreme Court to adopt court rules, and Issue 3, which dealt with term limits in Arkansas.

The Arkansas Supreme Court ruled last week that there were technical errors with petition pages containing voter signatures. Without those signatures, the supporters of Issue 3 did not have enough valid voter signatures to place Issue 3 on the statewide ballot for a vote.

The Arkansas Supreme Court also ruled last week that the proposals included in Issue 1 were not all related to each other, as required by the state constitution.

Locally, there will be contested races for mayor in three Jefferson County cities in November.

In addition, there will be contested races for alderman in both Altheimer and Redfield.

In Altheimer, incumbent Mayor Zola Hudson is being challenged by former Mayor Donald Bruce Robinson and by Corey Alexander. Four people, Tina Burton, Jesse L. Culclager, Blanchie Laws and Joycette Strong, are seeking the District 1, Position 1 alderman position.

Linda Gipson is unopposed for alderman District 1, Position 2, while Kim Love, Samuel L. Kelley and Sheron Burton are seeking the position of alderman District 2, Position 1. Essie Robertson and Lester Hudson will face each other for the District 2, Position 2 alderman position.

At Wabbaseka, incumbent Mayor Myra T. Edwards is being challenged by Linzie Anderson. Former Justice of the Peace Edward Spears is unopposed for the position of recorder/treasurer, and none of the candidates running for alderman are opposed. Those candidates and the position they are seeking are Robert L. White, Position 1, Geary D. Robinson, Position 2, Cleollia Robinson, Position 3, Robert Sloan, Position 4 and Commeka R. Goodloe Position 5.

At Redfield, Harmon Carter and Roben K. Brooks are both seeking the position of mayor.

Daniel M. Travis is unopposed for alderman District 1, Position 1, while Allison Beasley and Diann Brooks are seeking the alderman District 3, Position 1 spot. Darrel F. Hedden is unopposed for alderman District 3, Position 2.

Also on the ballot in parts of Jefferson County will be a three-way race for U.S. Congress District 1 featuring incumbent Republican Rick Crawford and his challengers, Democrat Chintan Desai and Libertarian Elvis Presley. There’s a three-way race for U.S. Congressman District 4 featuring incumbent Republican Bruce Westerman, Democrat Hayden Catherine Shamel and Libertarian Tom Canada.

Incumbent Governor Asa Hutchinson, a Republican, is opposed by Democrat Jared K. Henderson and Libertarian Mark West, while incumbent Lt. Governor Republican Tim Griffin is being challenged by Democrat Anthony Bland and Libertarian Frank Gilbert.

Current Attorney General Leslie Rutledge, a Republican, is seeking a second term and is being challenged by Democrat Mike Lee and Libertarian Kerry Hicks. Current Secretary of State Mark Martin is term-limited and cannot run again. In his place, current State Land Commissioner John Thurston, a Republican, is seeking the position. He is opposed by Democrat Susan Inman and Libertarian Christopher Olson.

Seeking the land commissioner’s position being vacated by Thurston are Republican Tommy Land, Democrat Larry Williams and Liberian T. J. Campbell. State Treasurer Republican Dennis Milligan is opposed by Libertarian Ashley Ewald, and State Auditor Republican Andrea Lea is being challenged by Libertarian David E. Dinwiddie.

There are also two races on the November General Election ballot for positions in the Arkansas General Assembly. Incumbent District 15 State Representative Ken Bragg, a Republican, is being challenged by Libertarian Wayne Willems. Incumbent District 17 State Representative Vivian Flowers, a Democrat, is opposed by Libertarian Gregory Maxwell.

State Supreme Court Justice Courtney Goodson is seeking another term and is facing David Sterling in the non-partisan judicial general election.

Three constitutional amendments will appear on the ballot. Issue 2 deals with voters presenting certain valid photographic identification when casting a ballot in person or absentee;

Three constitutional amendments will appear on the ballot. Issue 2 deals with voters presenting certain valid photographic identification when casting a ballot in person or absentee;

Issue 4 is an amendment to require four licenses to be issued for casino gaming at casinos, one each in Crittenden (to Southland Racing Corporation), Garland (to Oaklawn Jockey Club, Inc.), Pope and Jefferson counties;

And Issue 5 asks voters to raise the Arkansas minimum wage.

To study details of each amendment, visit