With the close of the filing period for non-partisan candidates for municipal office on Aug. 17, there will be no contested races in White Hall city government during the 2018 election.

White Hall Mayor Noel Foster is unopposed for another term as are City Attorney Tom Owens, City Clerk/Treasurer Ellen K. Welch and City Council members Andrew Lunsford, Ward 1, Position 1, Ken Smith, Ward 1, Position 2, Scott Ray, Ward 2, Position 1, Franklin (Beaver) Johnson, Ward 2, Position 2, David Beck, Ward 3, Position 1 and Joel Foster, Ward 3, Position 2.

At Redfield, Harmon Carter and Roben K. Brooks are both seeking the position of mayor.

Daniel M. Travis is unopposed for alderman District 1, Position 1, while Allison Beasley and Diann Brooks are seeking the alderman District 3, Position 1 spot. Darrel F. Hedden is unopposed for alderman District 3, Position 2.

One position on the Jefferson County Quorum Court will be decided in November as Alfred Carroll Sr., who won the Democratic Party primary, will be challenged by Libertarian James Michael Hood. There will also be one contested race for alderman in Pine Bluff.