Gov. Asa Hutchinson and the Arkansas Department of Education announced the 17 winning teams from the All-Region Coding Competition Feb. 12, including a White Hall team.

According to a Feb. 27 news release, the following teams were selected to advance to the All-State Coding Competition May 5:

White Hall High School - Alec Gibbs, Connor Jones and Ryan Smith; Arkansas High School - David Gustafson, Brayden Melton and Kaylie Tipton; Arkansas School for Math, Science and the Arts - Benjamin Allen, John Ostermueller and Noah Sherry; Bryant High School - John Baglio and Carson Moore; Cabot High School - Shann Hyder and Ethan Peck; Central High School - Anne Li, Zhaoying Li and John Ricard; Conway High School - Hunter Fleming, Jonathan Hopkins and Archer Murry; Gentry High School - Matthew Anderson, William Babb and Jonathan Brinkley; Greenbrier High School - Brian Corker, Samuel Hannink and Preston Starkey; Lake Hamilton High School - Zoie Keys, Ian Panzer and William Zeigler; Lonoke High School - Anthony Addison, Christian Klein and Jonathan Walker; Manila High School - Christian Booker, Hunter Hawkins and Grant Wilkins; Rogers Heritage High School - Luis Guerra, Allyson Hayes and Adam Siwiec; Rogers High School - Adam Eisa, David Daniel and Addison See; Russellville High School - Illiana Brown, Ronan Devlin and Michael Draughon; Southside High School - Tyler Saitang, Alex Siebenmorgan and Martin Tran; and Springdale High School - Samantha Quintero and David Welan.

According to the release, the 17 teams will receive an invitation to participate in the Second Annual All-State Coding Competition at Arkansas State University at Jonesboro May 5. Each member of the first-place team will receive a $2,000 award that will be deposited into a 529 College Savings Plan. Each member of the second-place team will receive a $1,000 award deposited into a 529 College Savings Plan, with each member of the third-place team receiving a $500 award deposited into a 529 College Savings Plan.

The schools that register/sponsor the first-place, second-place and third-place teams will receive $10,000, $6,000, and $4,000, respectively, to support their computer science programs. The prizes and competition expenses are provided by a Verizon grant to ARCodeKids.

“Congratulations to the 17 teams heading to Jonesboro in May to compete in the Second Annual Governor’s All-State Coding Competition,” Hutchinson said. “When I partnered with the Arkansas Department of Education in 2016 to announce the first All-Region and All-State Coding Competitions, I knew that Arkansas’ bright and talented young minds would rise to meet the challenge. I am confident that the members of this year’s teams will continue to impress us with their creativity and innovation in the 2018 competition.”

ADE congratulates the teams, sponsors and schools.

“In addition, all 13 hosting locations are to be commended for the work of their staff in making the regional events successful and fun for students,” Anthony Owen, state director of Computer Science Education, said.

Schools with teams advancing to the state competition will receive an official invitation with details by April 13.